Newbie here

Gesperrt
jbacinti

Newbie here

Beitrag von jbacinti »

Being new to this program and not at all familiar with others, I'm a little confused. I have all my data (names, dates, locations, etc.) and it looks like I need to enter it from youngest (my grandson) to eldest (my great, great, great, great grandfather). If I'm wrong, please tell me.

Thanks,

jbacinti

:x
Marcus
Administrator
Danksagung erhalten: 1 Mal

Beitrag von Marcus »

Hi jbacinti,

you can start just with whom you want! Start with one person enter what you know in the respective fields and then hit a button for a relative (as "Mother", "With" in the carrier "Marriages" for a Husband or Wife or "1.", "2." etc. for the children of a person). You will get to a new dialog where you now can fill the fields for the new person.
So you're associating your people right away, while you're hitting the respective buttons to build a relationship between your relatives.
Marcus
jbacinti

Beitrag von jbacinti »

Thanks Marcus; that makes sense. I'll give it a try later on.
jbacinti

Beitrag von jbacinti »

Thanks again Marcus. I've been rolling along with the program and really like it. Now I have another question.

Is there a way to spin off another tree from an existing tree? For example, I started with my family and have entered lots of data for my wife's family. Is there a way to cut off that "limb" and make it a new tree? Or just copy off that "limb" for another tree and then she or her brother can keep it up.

I hope I've made this clear.

jbacinti (John)
Marcus
Administrator
Danksagung erhalten: 1 Mal

Beitrag von Marcus »

To split your file into two files, you should first make a copy of your data and then use the "Delete group ..." function in the "Edit" menu. There you can select the relatives of a person in a lot of different ways and select if the choosen ones should be deleted from your file or if they should "survive" (and all others will be deleted).